Resonance Big Band - Plays Tribute to Oscar Peterson
Plays Tribute to Oscar Peterson Resonance Big Band
Release Date: May. 12, 2009
Format: CD/DVD
CD: Order from Resonance Records for $18.98 ADD TO CART
DOWNLOAD: Order from iTunes
Oscar Peterson's 60-year career has spawned an enormous fan base, but this is the first significant tribute to this jazz giant. Features new arrangements of many classic recordings, and introduces piano sensation Marian Petrescu with an all-star "Dream Team" 18-piece big band. Includes "behind the scenes" minidocumentary on DVD.
"The CD is amazing! Marian Petrescu's re-creation of Oscar's choruses is quite remarkable!"
- Claus Ogerman
Piano: Marian Petrescu
Guitar: Andreas Öberg
Bass: David Stone
Drums: Joe La Barbera
Reeds/Flutes: Bob Sheppard, Steve Wilkerson, Brian Scanlon, Keith Fiddmont, Tom Peterson
Trumpets/Flugelhorns: Willie Murillo, Larry Lunetta, Bob Summers, Larry Hall
Trombones: Andy Martin, Bob McChesney, Wendell Kelly, Bill Reichenbach
Tuba: Bill Reichenbach
Cabasa on "Sally's Tomato": Pierre Paul
Arranger/Conductors: Bill Cunliffe, Kuno Schmid, Claus Ogerman
String Quartet (Little Girl Blue, Greensleeves): Peter Kent, Giovanna Clayton, Belinda Broughton, Jessica Van Velzen
Piano: Fazioli Grand F-212
  • Dayton Daily News JPG
  • JazzTimes JPG
  • Audiophile Audition JPG
  • LA Jazz Scene PDF
  • Chord Piano Blog JPG
  • All About Jazz
  • Luxury Experience JPG
  • ejazzlines.com JPG
  • Jazz & Blues Report PDF
  • All About Jazz
  • Ken Franckling's Jazz Notes JPG
  • Jazz.com
  • Claus Ogerman PDF
  • Allmusic
  • Video